Book Review: Element Encyclopedia of 5000 Spells

Any practicing wiccan knows the importance of books. From beginners to long-time witches, from druids to eclectics, books play a vital role in expanding our knowledge of the subject and learn new tricks. However, finding a book that speaks to you and jam-packed with information can be rare. That’s why I’m thankful for The Element Encyclopedia of 5000 Spells.

5000 SpellsThis book has been the most used in my collection (aside from my Book of Shadows, of course). This book has just about everything I could hope for from a modern spellbook. When it says “Encyclopedia”, it means it.

It’s Informative

5000 Spells Size

The sheer size of this book can be intimidating; but, for me, it was exhilarating. It was a good sign that this book would be informative and well-used. But, of course, size isn’t everything.

Within it’s 1080 pages (Not including the index) it holds not only spells, but quick tidbits of recipes, lore, botanical classifications, and more. My favourite is the informative introduction. The preface features some history of magick through the ages, what magick is, and all the other fun stuff you learn in beginner books; provided quickly. This is especially great if you’ve read all the beginner books and just need a refresher.

It’s Diverse

5000 Spells Diversity

I was pleasantly surprised to see the amount of categories in this book. Each spell is put into a very niche category for easy findings. But, what’s more, is the origins of each spell! They have magick from all over the world. Old Hebrew, Hindu, Voodoo/Hoodoo, and Celtic spells are scattered throughout the pages. It’s interesting to see the beliefs of a world of culture, even if they contradict each other occasionally. (When it comes to contradicting spells and beliefs, go with your gut.)

Another great part, as stated above, is that it’s not only spells, but recipes and quick reference information.

IMG_0997

It has a guide to botanicals, numbers, astrology, and more. Not to mention several tutorials on how to make your own magickal essentials; such as magick ink, incense, and essential oil mixes.

However, It’s Pricey

IMG_0999

I paid $42 CAD

Maybe I’m just cheap, but I feel like buying this book was a huge splurge; I normally don’t spend more than $20 CAD on a book. As I walked out of Chapters I almost felt guilty for spending so much spare money on this, fearing that we’d be hit with unexpected bills or something. However, when I cracked it open and started reading, it was well worth it.

There is a smaller version, The Element Encyclopedia of 1000 Spells, which is significantly less expensive. I considered purchasing this one so I could have more spare money, then I thought, “Well, I have the money now, why only buy 1/5 of the information?”  …It was a great call. I would have definitely regretted not getting the 4000 extra spells.

This book provides the most bang for your buck. It’s the most informative, well written, and diverse spellbook I’ve ever had the pleasure of owning. The Element Encyclopedia of 5000 Spells is amazing; and the best part is that they have an entire collection of books which I plan on buying. I hope are just as informative.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

